Skip to content

Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson, Debra Lee, & Rashida Jones Among Newest Delta Sigma Theta Honorary Members

Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson, Debra Lee, & Rashida Jones Among Newest Delta Sigma Theta Honorary Members

This is incredible!

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc, has just announced its newest honorary members. Taking place at the 56th National Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana, the announcement was a huge moment for the prestigious organization. Boasting a sisterhood of more than 350,000 members, the women came together at their biennial convening to celebrate the honorary members and welcome them into the century-old legacy institution that prides itself on scholarship and service.

“Honorary Membership is the highest honor extended to women who have made significant contributions to society while excelling in their chosen fields,” a statement on the organization reads.

The new honorees include Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson, the first Black woman Supreme Court justice, MSNBC president Rashida Jones, media mogul Debra Lee, Channing Dungey, chairperson of Warner Bros. and the first Black president of a major broadcast television network, Bonnie Jenkins, the United States Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security, Tamika Catchings, a former WNBA player who retired as the league’s number one scorer, and award-winning entrepreneur and leadership mentor Phyllis Newhouse.

This year’s cohort comes with a wealth of knowledge and impressive resumes that only enhance the extraordinary heritage of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. They now join the leagues of remarkable women who have received the honor before including journalists Abby D. Phillip, Joy-Ann Reid, singer Ledisi Young, Ambassador Atallah Shabazz, daughter of civil rights leaders Malcolm and Dr. Betty Shabazz, who were all members of the last honorary class. Other notable members include Aretha Franklin, Nikki Giovanni, Cicely Tyson, HUD Secretary Marcia Fudge, and former Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms.

More than 20,000 members have gathered this convention to engage, empower and elevate the impact of this prestigious organization. We celebrate with them in welcoming the newest ladies of Delta Sigma Theta as they put on the lifetime robe of crimson and cream.


Cover photo: Ketanji Brown Jackson, Debra Lee, & Rashida Jones are newest Delta Sigma Theta honorary members/Photos Courtesy of fair use images